Momofuku Style Marinated Hanger Steak

David Change from Momofuku is one of my favorite young chefs.  His korean-american cuisine is real genius.  His steamed pork buns are heavenly.  I picked up a hanger steak on sale at the local co-op.  Here is my take on his marinated hanger steak reprinted from his book.

Hanger Steak:

2 cups sweet apple cider (the original recipe calls for apple juice)
½ cup soy sauce
½ yellow onion, thinly sliced
5 to 6 garlic cloves, thinly sliced
1 teaspoon Asian sesame oil

I let it marinade for two days.  Then I cooked the steak ghetto sous vide in the marinade using a big pot of hot water at 120 F.  I finished it on the grill to give it a sear.

I served the steak with the scallion-ginger dressing described the recipe, which added a nice spicy and refreshing note to the dish.  It was somewhat reminiscent of the ginger salad dressing used in many sushi restaurants when combined with the lettuce.

It was my first attempt at cooking sous vide and I was really impressed by the results.

Leave a Reply

